First Line Fridays – Daughter of Silk

Hello, dear friends! Happy Friday! TOMORROW is our very own Rachel’s BIRTHDAY (yay!) so today I’m celebrating HER with one of her very fave books (and one I haven’t read yet – oops!)

Daughter of Silk by Linda Lee Chaikin

daughter of silk

 Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Christianbook

Marquis Fabien De Vendome stood on the open balustrade of the royal palais chateau at Chambord, resting his muscled shoulder against the broad marble embrasure.

Happy Birthday, Rachel!!!

We love you!

IMG_0560

Your turn, reader friends! Share YOUR first line (and birthday wishes for Rachel) in the comments below!

Click the blue blog hopping frog button to visit more FLF folks!

Join us!

We also invite you to participate in First Line Fridays on your own blog!
Please remember to designate applicable posts as mature, see full guidelines for details.

 

21 thoughts on “First Line Fridays – Daughter of Silk

  1. Happy birthday for tomorrow, Rachel! And I don’t think I was even AWARE of this book, so guess who’s going to Amazon after typing this comment! Lol!

    I’m featuring ‘Shadow Sister’ by Katherine Scott Jones on my blog today, but right now I’ve just started reading ‘The Raveling’ by Tamara Leigh. At last! I’ve been waiting to find the time to read this one!!

    “He had lost a son he had not known he had–providing the child was his.”

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

  2. My first line is from Redemption at Shadow Lake by J.E. Grace
    An attractive man in his early thirties with deeply disturbed eyes stands in the shadows.
    Happy Birthday blessings Rachel!

    Like

  3. Happy Friday!😊

    My first lines come from a book I will be reading shortly, Unleashed by Donna Kauffman.

    Emma Lafferty’s life had gone to the dogs. Literally. And to the cats. And the parakeets, goldfish, hamsters, even the occasional potbelly pig. What it and her fledgling pet-sitting service hadn’t gone to was her bank account. Not enough, anyway.

    Have a great weekend and happy reading!😊📚💖

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy Birthday, Rachel! I hope your weekend is filled with love, joy, and of course, great reading! 😀

    Over on my blog, I’m sharing the first line from Lynnette Bonner’s High Desert Haven. Here, I’ll share one of my favorite lines from Crossed Out by Christina Coryell (her contribution to the Once Upon A Laugh novella collection):

    Kids at yard sales were nearly impossible to corral. Grandmas watching kids at yard sales were like wild mustangs, throwing caution and endless quarters to the wind.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy Saturday!

    Yesterday on my blog, I shared the first lines from Cara Putman’s novel Delayed Justice. Here I will share the first line from the novel I’m currently reading, An Unpresentable Glory by Eleanor Gustafson.

    “On her return from church, Kileenda Jensen discovered a problem, and it had nothing to do with her name.”

    Hope you have an awesome weekend!!! 😀🧡📚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy, Happy Birthday, Rachel! I know I’m late for Friday, so happy Labor Day weekend! My first line is from Under Prairie Skies by Cynthia Roemer.

    “The sound of a spry whistle froze Charlotte Stanton in her tracks. She tightened her hold on her bucket of creek water, eyes narrowing.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.