First Line Fridays (Giveaway) – An Inconvenient Beauty by Kristi Ann Hunter

4

Today we aKristi Ann Hunterre super excited to welcome our VERY FIRST GUEST to Hoarding Books! Kristi Ann Hunter graduated from Georgia Tech with a degree in computer science but always knew she wanted to write. Kristi is the author of the HAWTHORNE HOUSE series and a 2016 RITA Award winner and Christy Award finalist. She lives with her husband and three children in Georgia.

Kristi Ann Hunter.jpg

Which books/authors do YOU hoard?

Kristi: All of them. I hoard all the books. Seriously. There are books on my shelf that I know I will never, ever read, yet they remain. As far as authors and books I go out of my way to include, if it’s a romance, I’ll at least consider it. Love me some boy meets girl, chaos ensues, happiness found sort of books. There’s quite a bit of Karen Witemeyer and Regina Jennings on my shelf as well as some general market authors like Julia Quinn.

As the Hubs is also a book hoarder of the fantasy and theological variety and we have passed this trait down to our children… our house has a lot of books.

Rachel: “I know I will never, ever read, yet they remain.” I am SO glad to hear you say this…Because I totally have a ton of these books as well! Maybe I’m not all that crazy after all. Hehe!

Which character do you relate to most in An Inconvenient Beauty?

girls-914823_1920.jpgKristi: Um… none of them is probably not an acceptable response here, is it? I suppose Isabella because I do have a tendency to go off half-cocked on an emotional decision and take too much blame on myself. Honestly, though, I talk too much to keep secrets like she did. I felt like I knew Griffith better because I grew up in a family of Griffiths. Lots of logic, lots of thinkers, lots of planners. And then me. My poor parents.

Rachel: **Note to self: Never tell Kristi a secret** I adore Griffith SO much! From the beginning he ha been MY Hawthorne House Hero. ❤

Tell us an interesting thing you learned while researching An Inconvenient Beauty.

Kristi: **Okay, minor spoiler alert on this one because it’s a historical event that my characters show up at.** I won’t tell you what they do there, but I will mention the event because I stumbled across it while researching something else for the book and I loved it so much I simply HAD to include it.

holdhard: One of a a pair of Napoleonic imperial eagles captured at the Battle of Waterloo.
Pinterest

After the Battle of Waterloo, a soldier was sent to deliver the news to the Prince Regent along with two golden eagles that had been captured from Napoleon’s forces. The eagles were from the tops of their flag standards and were guarded by the forces like treasure, so having two of them was a very big deal.

The soldier got to London, found out where the Prince Regent was, and interrupted the ball, still in his torn, dirty, bloody uniform.  No pulling the Prince Regent to the side, no sending a message, just walked into the middle of the ball.

That’s so cool.

Rachel: I LOVE THIS! And I am SO glad you included it in the book. Really an epic scene…For more than one reason!

What can you tell us about your new series?

22365539_1164344750332149_8199249121862837129_n
Click the image to go to Kristi’s Facebook page. Cover reveal is TODAY!

Kristi: Well, we’re leaving London for a bit, traveling out to the town of Marlborough. I’m very excited about this series because the group of ladies that ties this next series together is remarkable. They’re all incredibly different, and shouldn’t really have anything to do with each other, but a common goal has brought them together and they’ve formed a family around that. Only the foundation of that family is a bit unstable and as it starts to crumble, they’ll encounter some equally remarkable men and together they’ll build something even stronger.

Wow. That was really vague and poetic. I can also tell you that the cover for the first book is GORGEOUS. I may have danced around my house when I saw it the first time.

Rachel: If it has your name on it…I will read it…end of story. I am excited to see a different part of England through your characters’ eyes though!

What’s something that readers would find surprising to learn about you?

Kristi: I have no idea because I’m not quite sure what my readers think of me now. They might be surprised to learn that I’m rather unorganized and a bit flighty. I have to write my schedule on the fridge every week or I’ll forget where I’m supposed to go and when. (Seriously. It takes up the entire front of the fridge. I use chalk markers and write directly on it.)

22127459_10154304040442824_593483512_n.jpg
Photo Credit – Emilie Hendryx

This is rather easy to hide on social media, but if you ever meet me in person I have been known to be unintentionally rude and walk away in the middle of a conversation because… I actually have no idea why this happens and it’s really embarrassing because it’s never intentional and I won’t realize that I’ve done it until five minutes later. Whereupon I rudely leave the conversation I joined since then to come awkwardly apologize. Sigh. Vicious cycle. So if I’ve ever done that (or ever do that) to you…. I’M SORRY!

Rachel: This is rather hilarious! Not gonna lie. And you are extremely competitive! I am too though…So, I was really glad we got paired on the same team at CFRR 😉

The First Line

An Inconvenient Beauty

Prologue
Eton College, Berkshire, England, 1797

The line between boy and man was never murkier than when a father died too soon, leaving his son to walk through the foibles of youth while shouldering the responsibilities of adulthood.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Christian Book | Goodreads

The Hawthorne House Series

What are you reading?  What is your first line?
Open the book nearest you and post the first line in the comments below…And don’t forget to enter the GIVEAWAY via the Rafflecopter form below.

Then join the Linky below with the URL to your blog POST (not your blog), your name and your email (which will remain hidden). Then bounce around the Linky!

Giveaway!

Click that there Rafflecopter link and enter for a chance to win a PRINT copy of An Inconvenient Beauty! (US addresses only) For the purpose of this giveaway, Reading Is My SuperPower’s giveaway policies apply. They can be found here.

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway book graciously provided by the publisher and author.

37 thoughts on “First Line Fridays (Giveaway) – An Inconvenient Beauty by Kristi Ann Hunter

  1. I’ll share the first line of a book that’s releasing soon: “Hanna Knight clicked the Power button on the radio as she inched the Dodge Ram pickup down the snow-covered highway.” -The Engagment Plot by Krista Phillips

    Like

  2. Oooh! Cover reveal! And I’m going to start this new series from the beginning so I’m not perpetually behind! (Because you can’t read a series out of order!)

    I’m featuring the SECOND line from Crystal Walton’s ‘Just Maybe’ on my blog this week (Carrie has the first line on Reading is my Superpower). But here, I’m going to share the first line from my current read: a speculative novel called ‘Day Moon’ by Brett Armstrong. Here’s the first line:

    “The drizzle tapped on the coffin with an increasing intensity.”

    Like

  3. Oh, I enjoyed reading Griffith’s story! Such a fun interview with Kristy!

    The first line on my blog this week is from Toni Shiloh’s latest book ‘Returning Home’. I’ll share with you here a book that I just started reading last night.

    June 1811
    A London lady never sallied forth unchaperoned. Least of all to a place with the reputation of Vauxhall Gardens. — First Comes Marriage by Amanda Barratt
    The Regency Brides Collection

    Like

  4. This a super fun interview with Kristi! Love it! 🙂

    I’m featuring Lu. by Beth Troy on my blog today, but here I shall share the book I’m currently reading.

    “They rode in silence, the murmur of Alex’s expensive late-model white SUV lulling Astrid into drowsiness.”
    -Colors of Christmas by Olivia Newport

    Like

  5. Great post! And I can’t wait to read An Inconvenient Beauty!

    Happy Friday! I want to share the first line from the first chapter instead of from the prologue: (This is a REALLY fun book to read!)

    A New Shade of Summer by Nicole Deese:

    “I jiggled the locked doorknob again and wished, not for the first time, that it was legal to use tranquilizer darts on adolescent boys.”

    Like

  6. Kristi sounds like a fun person! And that book cover, love it. Thank you for the fun interview. I will leeave you with my first line and a thank you for the giveaway opportunity.

    First line: Maggie Newcomb stood on the front porch of her house gazing idly into the yard. Sister’s Choice by judith Pella

    Like

  7. Of the hundreds of cookbooks in Kitty’s collection, an extraordinary number were dedicated to cooking under difficult circumstances.

    The Bookshop on Rosemary Lane by Ellen Berry

    Like

  8. I love Kristi, she is sooo much fun! Loved all her books so far and I know we are in for more treats with the next series.

    Just finished The Captivating Lady Charlotte by guess who? Carolyn Miller! Number two in this Regency series!

    The room glimmered with a thousand points of sparkling light, the bright glow from the enormous crystals-dropped chandelier glinting off heavily beaded gowns, ornate mirrors, and the desperation shining in dozens of pairs of eyes.

    Like

  9. She closed her eyes and leaned against the porch trellis. A perfectly wonderful Saturday gone to the dogs! (A Passion Most Pure by Julie Lessman) Thank you for the chance to win!

    Like

  10. Congratulations on your first author interview! Kristi was an excellent – and entertaining – choice. :o)

    First line: “Sunsets in Sweet Bay have always made me feel a little like a child.” – The Hideaway, debut novel by Lauren K. Denton

    Like

  11. The new series sounds intriguing, Kristi! I can’t wait to read it. Team Villainous!
    Great interview! I loved meeting Kristi in person at CFRR, you too Rachel 🙂
    My first line this week is: The Sinai Desert 1890
    Rebecca Hawes lay awake in her tent, convinced that the howling wind was about to lift her entire camp into the air and hurl it to the far side of the desert.
    Where We Belong by Lynn Austin

    Like

  12. Detective Jason Stephanidis steered his truck down the narrow, icy road, feeling better than anytime since being placed on administrative leave. – Lee Tobin McClain’s Secret Christmas Twins

    Like

  13. Fabulous interview! I’m so far behind on my “series” reading! MUST.CATCH.UP.SOON!

    Wednesday,September 2, 1987

    Mike Dolan was snoring when the telephone rang. Fly Away by Lynn Austin

    Like

  14. Great interview Kristi Ann Hunter! Your book sounds interesting and the book cover is beautiful. I have it on my very looong TBR list. I so understand about being a “book hoarder” as my book shelves tend to overflow and my kindlefire is filled with books I have not read yet. But I continue to buy, “just one more book”, sigh.

    My first line Friday is from the second story in Colors of Christmas: Two Contemporary Stories Celebrate the Hope of Christmas by Olivia Newport (1. Colors in Gold, 2. Colors in Blue)

    The second story: Colors in Blue…
    “The child never practiced.

    Blessings, Tina

    Like

  15. Inconvenient Beauty is one of the books I received yesterday for my birthday. I’ve been saving books 2 and 3 till I got this one so am looking forward to catching up with reading this series. I really enjoyed the prequel and first book.
    My first line is from The Illusionist’s Apprentice by Kristy Cambron: “Agent Elliot Matthew stared down a firing squad.”

    Like

  16. “Pacing Wolf silently edged out from under the buffalo robes he shared with his sleeping woman and pulled a hunting shirt over his head.” Straight Flies the Arrow by Sydney Betts.
    This book is so good, I’m reading it again.

    Like

  17. Cannot wait to read An Inconvenient Beauty and I am also looking forward to your new series! My first line comes from The Quieting by Suzanne Woods Fisher: “Men, I believe I have just met my future bride!” 🙂

    Like

  18. AWESOME INTERVIEW!!! Thanks, Kristi and Rachel!

    My First Line Friday is from: ~The Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klaasen

    London, England
    May 1817
    I sat across the table from the man I most admired, feeling self-conscious.

    Like

  19. I’m dying to get my hands on your lovely book and gobble it up!

    I read A Heart Divided this weekend. “A giant, blood red moon rose in the blackened sky.” Kinda right up Regina Jennings alley.

    Like

  20. My first line comes from

    JoAnna Davidson Politano’s book “Lady Jayne Disappears”

    “Well, Miss Harcourt. Are you, or are you not, Nathaniel Droll?”

    *I commented under my middle name Ja’net but my entry is under Shamekka S*

    Like

Leave a Reply

