First Line Fridays — Hometown Girl

4.png

Grab the book nearest to you and leave a comment with the first line!

Today I am going to post a line from

Hometown Girl
by Courtney Walsh.

Hometown Girl.jpg

My First Line:

Beth Whitaker hated flowers.

What are you reading?  What is your first line?
Open the book nearest you and post the first line in the comments below…

Then join the Linky below with the URL to your blog POST (not your blog), your name and your email (which will remain hidden). Then bounce around the Linky!

wpImg.png

19 thoughts on “First Line Fridays — Hometown Girl

  1. My first line is from The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristi Cambron:
    Sera James bounded through the front door of the Manhattan gallery, so excited that she nearly slipped for running across the hardwood floor in her heels.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yay! Hello Hoarding Books!

    I’m sharing the first line from Lynn Austin’s new release ‘Where We Belong’ on my blog this week, so I’m going to share the first line of the book I just finished here: The Case of the Clobbered Cad by Debra E. Marvin.

    “Heather Munro gazed down Victoria Street so long, she became another gray-suited statue along the Royal Mile.”

    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. YAY! Hoarding Books! Love the new site! I’m reading mainstream this week, Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng, and I’m going to cheat and give the first two lines: Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Hey There Hoarding Books! Love the new site!

    I’m currently reading Hometown Girl and loving it!

    I’m sharing about “Witness Protection” by Carol Kinsey on the blog today, but I’m going to share the first line from the book I’m currently reading here.

    “All of the stories have been written, including mine.”
    Lu. by Beth Troy

    Have a fantastic weekend everyone!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey Hoarding Books! Happy Friday!

    I’m reading The Second Chance Brides Collection. My first line comes from Chapter 2 of Married by Mistake by Laura V. Hilton.

    The crush of people in the Grand Hotel ballroom overwhelmed Thomas to the point he wanted to turn around and have his driver take him home.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My first line from “The Colors of Christmas” (Olivia Newport) which I need to read this weekend: “They rode in silence, the murmur of Alex’s expensive late-model white SUV lulling Astrid into drowsiness.”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Afternoon First Line Fridays!

    My first line is from Colors of Christmas: Two Contemporary Stories Celebrate the Hope of Christmas by Olivia Newport.

    There are two stories in this book: Christmas in Gold and Christmas in Blue. This is from the first story, Christmas in Gold.

    “They rode in silence, the murmur of Alex’s expensive late-model white SUV lulling Astride into drowsiness”.

    Blessings,Tina

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Happy Friday!!! My first line is from Mission Undercover by Virginia Vaughan:

    “Blake Michaels pulled into the parking lot of Northshore Medical Center and cut the engine.”

    Like

  9. “Luke crouched behind an orange shipping container, dreading to think what it held.”

    – Blind Spot by Dani Pettrey

    So awesome!

    Like

  10. My First Line right now is from The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis – “This is a story about something that happened long ago when your grandfather was a child.” We are reading this to our kids.

    Like

Leave a Reply

